Emerge Vermont Alums Win Big in Primary

  • Aug 10, 2022
  • Elaine Haney

NOTE: This post was updated 10/26/2022 to reflect additional successful primary races by Emerge Vermont trained women.

Burlington, VT—Emerge Vermont, the state’s premier organization that recruits and trains Democratic women to run for office, delivered big wins up and down the ballot in last night’s primary election. The organization had 49 alums on the ballot with 45 wins and a 92% win rate. 37.5% of alums on the ballot were members of the New American Majority—Black, Brown and Indigenous women and women of color, as well as LGBTQ+, young, and unmarried women—while 10 were first-time candidates. Their victories are part of an emerging national trend that underscores the successes of women candidates at the ballot box.

“More women are winning when running for office than ever before, thanks in part to Emerge Vermont, which recruits and trains Democratic women to run,” said former Vermont Governor Madeleine M. Kunin, who founded Emerge Vermont in 2013. “I’m thrilled that Emerge Vermont is making a difference in women’s high success rate.”

Alums of Emerge Vermont were on the ballot for offices at every level, from the Legislature to Governor to Congress. “Emerge Vermont alums were a dominant force on the ballot last night, and we are thrilled that so many of them have succeeded in the primary,” said Elaine Haney, executive director of Emerge Vermont. “These women are exceptional leaders with backgrounds, experiences, and identities that represent the unique diversity of our state. If elected in November, they will transform our political structures, provide new voices for traditionally underrepresented communities, and demonstrate the importance of women in leadership. We’re incredibly proud of them and hope to see similar success in the general election.”

The Emerge Vermont alums who won on Tuesday are:

Candidate Office  District Emerge Class
Alyssa Black State Representative Chittenden-24 2020
Angela Lawrence High Bailiff Windham County 2022
Anna Tadio State Senator Rutland County 2022
Anne Watson State Senator Washington County 2017
Becca Balint U.S. Representative 2014
Becca White State Senator Windham 2016
Brenda Churchill State Representative Franklin-6 2018
Brenda Siegel Governor 2022
Carol Ode State Representative Chittenden-18 2015
Charity Clark Attorney General 2022
Daisy Berbeco State Representative Chittenden-21 2022
Emilie Kornheiser State Representative Windham-7 2018
Emilie Krasnow State Representative Chittenden-9 2022
Gabrielle Stebbins State Representative Chittenden-13 2020
Jana Brown State Representative Chittenden-1 2018
Jessica Brumsted State Representative Chittenden-7 2016
Jill Krowinski State Representative Chittenden-16 Former ED
Julia Andrews State Representative Chittenden-25 2022
Karen Dolan State Representative Chittenden-22 2020
Kari Dolan State Representative Washington-2 2018
Kate Donnally State Representative Lamoille-2 2020
Kate Lalley State Representative Chittenden-6 2020
Katherine Sims State Representative Orleans-4 2016
Kathleen James State Representative Bennington-4 2018
Kathryn Nugent State Representative Chittenden-10 2021
Kelsey Root-Winchester State Representative Orange-Caledonia 2020
Kesha Ram Hinsdale State Senator Chittenden-SE Co-founder
Lauren Dees-Erickson State Representative Franklin-8 2022
Leslie Goldman State Representative Windham-3 2020
Madeline Motta Assistant Judge Lamoille County 2014
Mari Cordes State Representative Addison-4 2018
Martine Gulick State Senator Chittenden-Central 2018
Melissa Battah State Representative Washington-Orleans 2020
Michelle Bos-Lun State Representative Windham-3 2020
Monique Priestley State Representative Orange-2 2022
Pam McCarthy State Senator Franklin County 2014
Rey Garofano State Representative Chittenden-23 2022
Ruth Hardy State Senator Addison County Former ED
Sara Coffey State Representative Windham-1 2018
Sarah Copeland Hanzas Secretary of State 2022
Sarah George State’s Attorney Chittenden County 2018
Sarita Austin State Representative Chittenden-19 2018
Saudia LaMont State Representative Lamoille-Washington 2022
Stephanie Jerome State Representative Rutland-9 2020
Tiff Bluemle State Representative Chittenden-13 2020

The above winners are alums of Emerge Vermont’s Signature Training program.  Another group of 13 women recently completed an intensive campaign training, with 11 (85%) also winning their primary races. They are:

  • Aimee Alexander, House, Orleans-1
  • Angela Arsenault, House, Chittenden-2
  • Tesha Buss, House, Windsor-5
  • Ela Chapin, House, Washington-5
  • Leonora Dodge, House, Chittenden-23
  • Chea Evans, House, Chittenden-5
  • Edye Graning, House, Chittenden-3
  • Wendy Harrison, Senate, Windham County
  • Rebecca Holcombe, House, Windsor-Orange-2
  • Kate McCann, House, Washington-4
  • Nakuma Palczewski, Senate, Franklin County
  • Peggy Stevens, House, Essex-Orleans
  • Dara Torre, House, Washington-2

Wins experienced by all 62 Emerge Vermont trained women on the primary ballot resulted in a 90% overall win rate. Emerge Vermont trained women also made up 39% of all candidates from all parties on the primary ballot.

Emerge Vermont has a proven track record for getting Democratic women elected. Since the organization launched in 2013, the program has equipped 174 women with the skills needed to bring change to their communities. Prior to Tuesday’s primary, 54% of alums have gone on to run for political office or been appointed to local boards or commissions, and of those who have gone on to run for an elected position, 39% have won including Speaker of the House Jill Krowinski, Senate Pro Tem Becca Balint, and Lt. Governor Molly Gray.

Nationally, Emerge has trained more than 5,000 alums since 2002 and currently has more than 1,000 alums in elected office across the country. The organization is committed to reaching 100,000 women of the New American Majority over the next 15 years, fostering a lift as you climb culture for women in politics, and repowering political structures. There are currently 27 state affiliates, and the organization has impacted a total of 45 states, Washington, D.C. and territories.