Elected & Appointed Alums

Leaders All.

In 2022, Emerge Vermont trained women served in and won election to office in unprecedented numbers. Dozens of alums from our Signature Training and bootcamps, as well as women who attended one-day workshops, were elected or appointed to serve in statewide, legislative, and local office all over Vermont.


Becca Balint — U.S. House of Representatives



Lt. Governor Molly Gray (2020-2022)

Secretary of State Sarah Copeland Hanzas (2022-2024)

Attorney General Charity Clark (2022-2024)


Legislators (43)

Julia Andrews — State House, Chittenden-25 (2023-24 biennium)

Angela Arsenault — State House, Chittenden-2 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Sarita Austin — State House, Chittenden-19 & Justice of the Peace, Colchester

Daisy Berbeco — State House, Chittenden-21 (2023-24 biennium)

Alyssa Black — State House, Chittenden-24 & Justice of the Peace, Westford

Tiffany Bluemle — State House, Chittenden-13

Michelle Bos-Lun — State House, Windham-3

Jana Brown — State House, Chittenden-1

Jessica Brumsted — State House, Chittenden-7

Tesha Buss — State House, Windsor-5 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Ela Chapin — State House, Washington-5 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Sara Coffey — State House, Windham-1

Mari Cordes — State House, Addison-4

Leonora Dodge — State House, Chittenden-23 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Karen Dolan — State House, Chittenden-22

Kari Dolan — State House, Washington-2

Kate Donnally — State House, Lamoille-2

Chea Evans — State House, Chittenden-5 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Rey Garofano — State House, Chittenden-23

Leslie Goldman — State House, Windham-3 & Justice of the Peace, Bellows Falls

Edye Graning — State House, Chittenden-3 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Martine Gulick — State Senate, Chittenden County (2023-24 biennium) & Burlington School District Board

Ruth Hardy — State Senate, Addison County

Wendy Harrison — State Senate, Windham County (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Kesha Ram Hinsdale — State Senate, Chittenden County

Rebecca Holcombe — State House, Windsor-Orange-2 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Kathleen James — State House, Bennington-4

Stephanie Jerome — State House, Rutland-9

Emilie Kornheiser — State House, Windham-7

Emilie Krasnow — State House, Chittenden-9 (2023-24 biennium)

Jill Krowinski — State House, Chittenden-16; Speaker of the House

Kate Lalley — State House, Chittenden-6 (2023-24 biennium) & Selectboard, Shelburne & Justice of the Peace, Shelburne

Saudia LaMont — State House, Lamoille-Washington (2023-24 biennium)

Josie Leavitt — State House, Grand Isle-Chittenden (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium) & Selectboard, Grand Isle

Kate McCann — State House, Washington-4 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Kate Nugent — State House, Chittenden-10 (2023-24 biennium) & Justice of the Peace, South Burlington

Carol Ode — State House, Chittenden-18

Monique Priestley — State House, Orange-2 (2023-24 biennium) & Justice of the Peace, Bradford

Katherine Sims — State House, Orleans-4

Gabrielle Stebbins — State House, Chittenden-13

Dara Torre — State House, Washington-2 (workshop trainee; 2023-24 biennium)

Anne Watson — State Senate, Washington County (2023-24 biennium) & Mayor of Montpelier

Becca White — State House, Windsor-4-2 & State Senate, Windsor County (2023-24 biennium) & Justice of the Peace, White River Junction


Local Elected Office (28)

Martha Allen, Justice of the Peace, Canaan

Tara Arneson — Champlain Valley Union School District Board

Asha Carroll — Mill River School District Board

Brenda Churchill — Selectboard, Justice of the Peace, Bakersfield

Jo Sabel Courtney — Selectboard, Stowe 

Cate Cross — Selectboard, Shelburne & Justice of the Peace, Shelburne

Greta D’Agostino — Selectboard, Williston & Justice of the Peace, Williston

Elizabeth Deustch — Justice of the Peace, Hinesburg

Betsy Dunn — Justice of the Peace, Essex

Edee Edwards — Selectboard, Halifax

Mary Erdei — Selectboard, Hartford

Ceilidh Galloway-Kane — Selectboard, Hardwick

Carmen George — Justice of the Peace, Burlington 

Elaine Haney — Justice of the Peace, Essex Junction

June Heston — Selectboard, Richmond

Zoe Kaslow — City Council, Vergennes

Diane Kirson-Glitman — Mt. Mansfield School Union School Board

Kate MacLean — Chelsea Selectboard

Seton McIlroy — Board of Trustees, Village of Woodstock 

Elizabeth McLaughlin — Selectboard, Brattleboro 

Gina Ottoboni — Selectboard, Chittenden 

Jill Remick — Montpelier-Roxbury School District Board 

Kelsey Root-Winchester  — Blue Mountain Union School District Board 

Anna Tadio — Board of Aldermen, Rutland

Laura Taylor — Essex Westford School District Board

Sarah Tischler — Selectboard, St. George 

Jenn Wood — Justice of the Peace, Grand Isle

Thea Wurzburg — Justice of the Peace, Winooski


Judicial & Criminal Justice

Sarah George — State’s Attorney, Chittenden County 

Angela Lawrence — High Bailiff, Windham County (2023-24 biennium)

Madeline Motta — Assistant Judge, Lamoille County


Gubernatorial Appointments

Esther Charlestin — Vermont Commission on Women

Dawn Ellis — Vermont Human Rights Commission

Christine Hallquist — Executive Director, Vermont Community Broadband Board

June Heston — Governor’s Veterans Advisory Council

Julie Moore — Secretary of the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources

Katherine Sims — Telecommunications & Connectivity Advisory Board

Stephanie Wobby — Governor’s Veterans Advisory Council

Havah Walther — Vermont Council on Developmental Disabilities